On being a New Mother…

I have  a new son and a new co-parent.  There must have been pregnancy but we missed all that. My Minister and I are co-parenting this young man who’s parents had the poor taste to throw him out of the house on account of him saying he was gay… (When he was 13)  Our DS (Darling son for the uninitiated)  calls us PUs (short for non-gender specific Parental Units)  We have roles.  I think I might be the Daddy.  She’s in charge of comfort and Joy.  I am on Career and Taxes.  DS has just had his 21st birthday and his first real Christmas.  He is ever so spoiled.  He now has a laptop and a guitar.  We are hoping that he will manage to not get either stolen from him.  The jury is still out on that.  He gets distracted and occasionally finds himself in the company of thieves and homeophobes who like nothing better than hitting him and taking his stuff, which is ironic as he hasn’t had much stuff for quite some time now.  Boy are they going to be impressed the next time they rip him off…

So for the day after Christmas my family gathered (the Jews, christians, Jehovah’s Witnesses and the random atheist)  at Buca de Beppo for dinner.  We had  a lovely fulfilling cooperative meal.  Brother J shared his broccoli with me.  Niece K shared her Spaghetti Marinara and her garden salad with me.  My DS had salad and chicken and non of us old folks on our end of the table felt required to have a big dessert.  My brand new DS was surrounded by the diverse family of all flavors.  He was ready to not like the Jehovah’s Witnesses, but as I’ve said, they are very nice people.  I really appreciated how well he conducted himself.  It’s really a high presssure situation when you meet 20 relatives or so you didn’t know you hand.  My Niece L (noA) was there and she welcomed DS into the family and we determined that he was now her cousin.

Actually I think L(NoA) would be a good friend to DS. They are both mentally quick.   She said her youngest is just like her.  The poor dear.  The curse worked.  It is funny to think of such a small girl bent on total world domination.  I just don’t see it.  She is very afraid of me as I am huge – grown and know her real name (Damn cover blown again – who ARE these people!)  Great Niece J and I have to get to know each other.  I hope hope hope the gift I chose was not WAY to young for her.  My Great Nephew R of the using me like a fluffy bed was there and he was flirtatious.  He’s going to be a heart breaker for sure… (Or a very good husband to some wonderful girl  – a flirt can be nice to have. )

I saw Nephew R and spoke to him about our odd face book situation (he neglects to friend me)  Still this is unremedied.  Maybe it is on account of his being blind.  I think he’s going to have to change his life.  since he cannot see so well.  He is in his mid 30s and I feel so very sorry for this.  I wanted him to have much more fun before crap started happening.  his sister L(noA) has already done the breast cancer thing.  My sister A has had bad luck with this.  However all children yet survive, as does she…

All this family and I go take on one more. I must be crazy.  He’s so adorable though.  I don’t know how else I could act.

Joy.

Leave a Reply

